Bookmark and Share


Green Party LogoGeorgia Greens Support Barr for Green Presidential Nomination 'only serious comedian in the race' part of slate of four

Monday, June 4th, 2012

For further information, contact:
Bruce Dixon, 678-298-9463 x3
Press Secretary, Georgia Green Party

At its Nominating Convention in Tucker, on Saturday, June 2nd, Delegates to the Georgia Green Party's annual meeting instructed three of its four Delegates to the Baltimore Presidential Nominating Convention to support the nomination of Roseanne Barr, of Hawaii, as the Party's 2012 Presidential standard bearer. The fourth Delegate was pledged to Jill Stein. Kent Mesplay also had some support at the Convention, but not enough to win a Delegate to Baltimore.

The Party also nominated Cynthia McKinney to return to her seat in Georgia's Fourth Congressional District, Kwabena Nkromo as its candidate in the 55th House District to the General Assembly and endorsed Denice Traina in her bid to serve on the non-partisan Augusta - Richmond County Commission. Petition drives are already under way to place Barr, McKinney and Nkromo on the 2012 General Election ballot. The Party has been soliciting volunteers to join in this effort with appeals published at:

The state Convention also filled three vacancies on the Party's Coordinating Council. Bruce Dixon of Cobb County was returned to the body, having just completed a previous two year term. Debra Bonaparte of Fulton County and Byron Merritt of DeKalb County also joined the Party's state committee, as it is known under state law. They join Chair Adam Shapiro, Secretary-Treasurer Al Herman, Denice Traina, Denis Knesovic, Hugh Esco and Theresa El-Amin, who will serve out their two year terms which end in the Summer of 2013.

The Georgia Green Party has organized since 1996 to provide an electoral alternative to Georgians committed to the Green values of peace and non-violence, social justice, grassroots democracy and ecological wisdom.

-- 30 --